J.D. Gross Single Origin Tablets

Tina, my HR Director, also gave me these single-origin chocolate tablets, also from J.D. Gross.

Choc00816b

I tried this 60% cacao one from Brazil first, and it was very good. Dark but sweet.

Choc00816a

I was surprised that this Venezuela chocolate, at only 56% cacao, tasted more chocolatey than the 60% Brazilian one. This is just more evidence that chocolate origin matters.

Choc00816c

This tablet from Ecuador was really good, dark and bitter.

Choc00816d

And this tablet from Trinidad was the best, being dark and rich and at that perfect cacao percentage of 75%.

These chocolates reminded me of the ones that my friend Lucy found at the Museum of Chocolate in France, but those listed a different company on their labels, and many of the countries are different too. Still, they tasted very similar, so I suspect they may be made by the same manufacturer and then labeled differently by different stores.

Leave a Reply

