Frango Mints, redux

A few weeks ago, a co-worker shared a few Frango mints from a small box she had. I love Frango mints, having been introduced to them in graduate school by a roommate who was from Chicago. They stopped make them for a while, but now they are back in production, and that same co-worker gave me a full-sized box of Frango mints this week. So, while I have already technically reviewed them, consider this a love letter of sorts, a love letter to Frango mints.

choc01368a

Frango mints come in a one-pound box adorned with a beautiful painting of Chicago. Inside are forty-six mints, arranged in a tight pattern.

choc01368b

Each mint comes wrapped in a paper cup. You can still see how the chocolate was poured from the little dollop on the top of the mint.

choc01368c

While I am not a huge fan of mint or milk chocolate, something about that combination works so well with Frango mints. They have a nice snap when you bite into them, and then they melt in your mouth, releasing a wonderful chocolate flavor with just a touch of mint, enough to taste but not enough to overpower the chocolate flavor. I shared these with my co-workers, and several wanted seconds and thirds. Lucky for them, the box holds a lot of mints. Lucky for me, I had some extra to take home. Dang, these are good chocolates, and I have missed them.

Thanks Michelle!

3 thoughts on “Frango Mints, redux

  1. Pingback: Frango 62% Dark Chocolate | Chocolate I Have Known

  2. Pingback: Frango Dark Mint Chocolates | Chocolate I Have Known

  3. Pingback: Mordens’ Russian Mints | Chocolate I Have Known

Leave a Reply

