Meiji Black Chocolate Blocks

My co-worker Grant W. brought me these chocolate tablets.

choc01570a

I had had these before, back in 2001, but the package had changed, so I wanted to document them again.

The package slid open to reveal the tablets.

choc01570b

Each tablet was wrapped in gold foil.

choc01570c

They were just as good as I remembered. Each tablet had a deep chocolate flavor, and I guessed they were about 40% cacao (looked it up and they are 43%). But they taste much richer than you’d expect at that cacao level. My co-workers liked them too, with everyone grabbing a second one when I offered. I think they were a hit!

Thanks Grant!

Leave a Reply

