Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Commendation Bar

I found this enormous bar at Trader Joe’s before Christmas, and I knew I wanted to take it to work for a chocolate eating meeting.

choc01629a

I don’t know why this is called a Commendation bar, since the back of that label only explained the history of chocolate and how this bar was made.

choc01629b

But did you see the size of this bar? Almost four and a half pounds! And it was 32 servings, each one 330 calories and over 2 ounces! Here is a picture of the bar along with several of the chocolate eating meeting people.

choc01629c

I included several game developers for scale, but then I realized that people might not know the average size of a game developer, so I included a banana for scale to them.

And you know what? This chocolate was pretty good! Much better and richer than I thought it would be and not as sweet as 61% cacao led me to expect. We all hacked off chunks and gnawed at them, but there was still so much left over that we will probably gnaw at it again at another meeting. I might take some home to bake with, and I will probably still have left overs!

4 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Commendation Bar

Leave a Reply

